More Options

Show Print-Only Articles

Ben Radford

Ben Radford's photo

Benjamin Radford is a scientific paranormal investigator, a research fellow at the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry, deputy editor of the Skeptical Inquirer, and author or co-author of six books and over a thousand articles on skepticism, critical thinking, and science literacy. His newest book is The Martians Have Landed: A History of Media Panics and Hoaxes. Radford is also a columnist for Discovery News and LiveScience.com.

Chasing the Ghost Bird

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.3, May / June 2010

The ivory-bill has captured the imagination of people the world over for a very long time.

New Prayer Study: Need Glasses or Hearing Aid? Ask God!

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
August 4, 2010
A new, badly flawed prayer study suggests that God will heal hearing and vision problems if someone else asks Him to.

Reflections on Camp Inquiry 2010

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
July 26, 2010
A memorable week at CFI's summer camp for kids, Camp Inquiry

New Film “Inception” Bends Both Minds and Logic

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
July 18, 2010
New Film “Inception” Bends Both Minds and Logic
The new thriller Inception, starring Leo DiCaprio, has good intentions but a plot full of holes.

Ghost Photo on Front Page of New York Times

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
June 28, 2010
Ghost Photo on Front Page of New York Times
A New York Times front-page photograph seems to reveal a mysterious ghostly image.

Psychic Carla Baron Called Out on Claim of Solving Natalee Holloway Case

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
June 14, 2010
Famous psychic Carla Baron says she solved the Holloway case; that's news to the police, FBI, and Holloway's parents.

What Martin Gardner Taught Me

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
June 2, 2010
Martin Gardner, one of the all-time great skeptics, taught me how skeptics can help the public with real-world problems.

BP Oil Spill: Just Wondering Where the Psychics Are…

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
May 26, 2010
Psychics should be asked—after each and every tragedy and national disaster—to explain their failures.

Rescuing Oiled Wildlife: Expensive and Ineffective

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
April 30, 2010
The desire to clean oiled wildlife is admirable and noble, but the most obvious solution is not always the best one.

Available in the Print Edition. Subscribe Here.

The Psychic and the Serial Killer: Examining the ‘Best Case’ for Psychic Detectives

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.2, March / April 2010

Article

An examination of the 'best case' of psychic detective abilities offers insight into how extraordinary claims are made, exaggerated, and clung to despite...

Available in the Print Edition. Subscribe Here.

Bigfoot Beliefs in Cultural Context

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.2, March / April 2010

Book Review

Bigfoot: The Life and Times of a Legend by Joshua Blu Buhs.

Available in the Print Edition. Subscribe Here.

BodyTalk: Boon or Bogus?

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.2, March / April 2010

Skeptical Inquiree

Q: I work for a national corporation and recently noticed pamphlets advertising "BodyTalk" therapy distributed around the workplace. Now a BodyTalk...

British Government Study Finds Homeopathy Worthless

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
April 22, 2010
A recent UK committee investigating homeopathy provides yet another nail in the coffin for this pseudoscience

Review of “Evolution: How We and All Living Things Came to Be” by Daniel Loxton

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.3, May / June 2010

Online Extra

Two very different books about evolution crossed my desk recently. The first, by Richard Dawkins, is titled The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence...

How Global Warming Creates Monsters

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
April 8, 2010
Benjamin Radford reveals an interesting link between Bigfoot and global warming. From his upcoming book on the chupacabra.

Valuing Solutions Over Problems, Explanations Over Mysteries

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
March 30, 2010
A brief discussion about the nature of mysteries and the value in finding their solutions

Blog on psychic detectives riles the believers—especially those who don’t read carefully

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
March 17, 2010
A Discovery News blog results in a poster's reply that seems to prove that psychic detectives are real!

Psychics: Be a Hero, Save Lives, and Earn $2 Million!

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
March 8, 2010
$2 million and hero status awaits any psychics who can solve Toyota's problems

Ghost Hunters International Team Finds Evidence of Fictional Character’s Ghost!

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
February 24, 2010
Ghost Hunters International Team Finds Evidence of Fictional Character’s Ghost!
Ghost Hunters International team finds evidence of a ghost of a woman who never existed

Another Real-World Example of Eyewitness Unreliability

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
February 19, 2010
If you think eyewitness reports are accurate, you otter read this.

Texas Police Blotter: Drunk Man “Running from Chupacabra”

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
February 15, 2010
Police near Abilene, Texas, who responded to a prowler report found a drunk man "running from a chupacabra."

New Chupacabra Documentary: More Speculation than Investigation

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
February 5, 2010
Radford reviews early footage of a film on the chupacabra monster, finding more speculation than investigation.

Another Cancer Hoaxer Preys on Goodwill

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
February 1, 2010
Another tragic story of battling a horrible disease turns out to be made up—either for profit or simply attention.

Charles Darwin and his Father Debunk Spiritualists and Psychics

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
January 21, 2010
In several of Darwin's letters, he described the skepticism he and his father shared over paranormal claims

Review of “Creation” New Film about Darwin

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
January 19, 2010
Benjamin Radford reviews Creation, the new film about Charles Darwin

A Plea for Any Real Psychics to Help Haiti

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
January 14, 2010
A plea for any real psychics to help save lives in earthquake-devastated Haiti

The Link Between Astrology and Prejudice

Free Thinking (centerforinquiry.net)
January 11, 2010
Astrology and racism are very similar in some disturbing ways

Available in the Print Edition. Subscribe Here.

Hyperbaric Therapy for Autism: Airy Promises

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.1, January / February 2010

Skeptical Inquiree

With the recent news that autism cases are on the rise, I'm sure the number of dubious "treatments" are increasing as well...

Available in the Print Edition. Subscribe Here.

Latest Texas ‘Chupacabra’ Exhibited in Creationist Museum

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.1, January / February 2010

News & Comment

In August 2009 a man in the small town of Blanco, Texas, heard something attacking chickens in his cousin's barn.

Available in the Print Edition. Subscribe Here.

Cryptozoology Museum Opens in Maine

Skeptical Inquirer Volume 34.1, January / February 2010

News & Comment

Fans of Bigfoot, Ogopopo, the chupacabra, and other "mystery creatures" will finally have a place to see their favorite beasts—albeit in absentia.

Page 7 of 13 pages « First  <  5 6 7 8 9 >  Last »